5 in Line for Canonization

VATICAN CITY, FEB. 20, 2007 (Zenit.org).- The Church intends to canonize four male saints from Malta, Poland, Brazil and the Netherlands, and one female saint from France.

The Office for the Liturgical Celebrations of the Supreme Pontiff announced today that on Friday, in the Consistory Hall of the Apostolic Palace, an ordinary public consistory will be held for the canonization of the following blessed:

— George Preca (1880-1962), Maltese, priest, founder of the Societas Doctrinae Christianae.

— Szymon of Lipnica (1439-1482), Polish, priest of the Order of Friars Minor.

— Charles of St. Andrew (born Johannes Andreas Houben), (1821-1893), Dutch, priest of the Congregation of the Passion.

— Antonio de Santa Ana (born Antonio Galvão de Franca), (1739-1822), Brazilian, priest of the Order of Alcantarine, or Discalced Friars Minor, and founder of the Convent of Conceptionist Sisters Recolhimento da luz.

— Marie-Eugénie de Jésus (born Anne-Eugénie Milleret de Brou), (1817-1898), French, founder of the Institute of Sisters of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin.

The ordinary consistory is convened to provide the formal assent of the cardinals for the approval of decrees for the canonizations.

Subscribe to the ZENIT Daily Email Newsletter

Receive the latest stories in your inbox each day!

Thank you for subscribing to ZENIT!


Subscribe to the ZENIT Daily Email Newsletter

Receive the latest news of the Church and the world in your inbox every day. 

Thank you for subscribing! We will confirm your subscription via email. Please check your spam folder if you do not receive it soon.