Donate now

Announcement of Consistory for 15 New Cardinals

“To Help and Support Peter’s Successor”

VATICAN CITY, FEB. 22, 2006 ( Here is a translation of the address Benedict XVI delivered after today’s general audience, to announce the elevation of 15 new cardinals in a consistory next month.

* * *

The feast of the Chair of St. Peter is a particularly appropriate day to announce that, next March 24, I will hold a consistory in which I will name the new members of the College of Cardinals.

This announcement is appropriately framed in the Feast of the Chair, because cardinals have the duty to help and support Peter’s Successor in carrying out the apostolic task entrusted to him in the service of the Church.

It is no accident that, in ancient ecclesiastical documents, the popes described the College of Cardinals as “pars corporis nostri” [“part of our body”] (cf. F.X. Wernz, “Ius Decretalium,” II, No. 459). The cardinals constitute a sort of senate around the Pope upon which he relies in carrying out the duties associated with his ministry as “permanent and visible source and foundation of unity of faith and communion” (cf. “Lumen Gentium,” No. 18).

Therefore, with the creation of the new cardinals I intend to complete the number of 120 member electors of the College of Cardinals, established by Pope Paul VI of venerated memory (cf. “Acta Apostolicae Sedis” 65, 1973, p. 163). These are the names of the new cardinals.

1. Monsignor William Joseph Levada, prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith;

2. Monsignor Franc Rodé, C.M., prefect of the Congregation for the Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life;

3. Monsignor Agostino Vallini, prefect of the Supreme Court of the Apostolic Signature;

4. Monsignor Jorge Liberato Urosa Savino, archbishop of Caracas;

5. Monsignor Gaudencio B. Rosales, archbishop of Manila;

6. Monsignor Jean-Pierre Ricard, archbishop of Bordeaux;

7. Monsignor Antonio Cañizares Llovera, archbishop of Todelo;

8. Monsignor Nicolas Cheong Jin-Suk, archbishop of Seoul;

9. Monsignor Sean Patrick O’Malley, O.F.M. Cap., archbishop of Boston;

10. Monsignor Stanislaw Dziwisz, archbishop of Krakow;

11. Monsignor Carlo Caffarra, archbishop of Bologna;

12. Monsignor Joseph Zen Ze-kiun, SDB, bishop of Hong Kong.

Moreover, I have decided to elevate to the dignity of cardinal three prelates over the age of 80, in consideration of the service they have rendered to the Church with exemplary faithfulness and admirable dedication.

They are:

1. Monsignor Andrea Cordero Lanza Di Montezemolo, archpriest of the Basilica of St. Paul Outside the Walls;

2. Monsignor Peter Poreku Dery, archbishop emeritus of Tamale, Ghana;

3. Father Albert Vanhoye, S.J., formerly distinguished rector of the Pontifical Biblical Institute and secretary of the Pontifical Biblical Commission.

The new cardinals well reflect the universality of the Church. In fact, they come from various parts of the world and undertake different duties in the service of the People of God.

I invite you to raise a special prayer to the Lord for them, that he may concede them the grace necessary to carry out their mission with generosity.

As I said at the beginning, next March 24 I will hold the announced consistory and the following day, March 25, solemnity of the Annunciation of the Lord, I will have the joy of presiding over a solemn celebration with the new cardinals.

On that occasion I will invite all the members of the College of Cardinals to participate, with whom I intend to hold a meeting of reflection and prayer the previous day, March 23.

Let us conclude now with the singing of the Pater Noster.

[Translation by ZENIT]

About ZENIT Staff

Share this Entry

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation