Pope to Bestow Pallium on 43

5 Archbishops From North America

VATICAN CITY, JUNE 25, 2008 (Zenit.org).- Benedict XVI will confer the pallium on 43 metropolitan archbishops in a traditional ceremony on the feast of Sts. Peter and Paul, the first day of the Pauline Jubilee Year.

The pallium, worn by the Pope and archbishops, symbolizes the lost sheep that is found again, carried on the shoulders of the Good Shepherd, and the Lamb crucified for the salvation of humanity. It also symbolizes, in part, the Pope’s concession of authority and communion to heads of major local Churches.

Here is the list of those who will receive the pallium. There are five archbishops serving in North America:

— Archbishop Edwin O’Brien of Baltimore, Maryland
— Archbishop Thomas Rodi of Mobile, Alabama
— Archbishop John Clayton Nienstedt of St. Paul-Minneapolis, Minnesota

— Archbishop Anthony Mancini of Halifax, Nova Scotia
— Archbishop Martin Currie of St. John’s, Newfoundland

Fourteen in Europe:

— Archbishop Francisco Pérez González of Pamplona-Tudela, Spain
— Archbishop Paolo Pezzi of Mother of God in Moscow, Russia
— Archbishop Tadeusz Kondrusiewicz of Minsk-Mohilev, Belarus

— Archbishop Giancarlo Maria Bregantini of Campobasso-Boiano, Italy
— Archbishop Reinhard Marx of Munich-Freising, Germany
— Archbishop Slawoj Leszek Głodz of Gdansk, Poland

— Archbishop Willem Eijk of Utrecht, Netherlands
— Archbishop José Sanches Alves of Evora, Portugal
— Archbishop Jan Babjak of Presov for Catholics of Byzantine rite, Slovakia

— Archbishop Giovanni Paolo Benotto of Pisa, Italy
— Archbishop Stanislav Zvolensky of Bratislava, Slovakia
— Archbishop Laurent Ulrich of Lille, France

— Archbishop Francesco Montenegro of Agrigento, Italy
— Archbishop Marin Srakic of Djakovo-Osijek, Croatia

Three in Asia or the Middle East:

— Archbishop John Hung Shan-Chuan of Taipei, Taiwan
— Archbishop John Hiong Fun-Yit Yaw of Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
— His Beatitude Fouad Twal, Latin patriarch of Jerusalem

Seven in South America

— Archbishop Lorenzo Voltolini Esti of Portoviejo, Ecuador
— Archbishop Andrés Stanovnik of Corrientes, Argentina
— Archbishop Mauro Aparecido dos Santos of Cascavel, Brazil

— Archbishop Oscar Urbina Ortega of Villavicencio, Colombia
— Archbishop Antonio López Castillo of Barquisimeto, Venezuela
— Archbishop Agustín Radrizzani of Mercedes-Lujan, Argentina
— Archbishop Luis Gonzaga Silva Pepeu of Vitoria da Conquista, Brazil

Seven in Africa:

— Cardinal John Njue, archbishop of Nairobi, Kenya
— Archbishop Michel Cartatéguy of Niamey, Niger
— Archbishop Matthew Man-Oso Ndagoso of Kaduna, Nigeria

— Archbishop Laurent Monsengwo Pasinya of Kinshasa, Congo
— Archbishop Richard Burke of Benin City, Nigeria
— Archbishop Thomas Kwaku Mensah of Kumasi, Ghana
— Archbishop Peter Kairo of Nyeri, Kenya

Four in the Caribbean

— Archbishop Robert Rivas of Castries, St. Lucia
— Archbishop Louis Kebreau of Cap Haitien, Haiti
— Archbishop Donald Reece of Kingston in Jamaica
— Archbishop Joseph Serge Miot of Port au Prince, Haiti

And one in Oceania:

— Archbishop John Ribat of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

Two archbishops will receive the pallium in their metropolitan sees:

— Archbishop William D’Souza of Patna, India
— Archbishop Edward Tamba Charles of Freetown-Bo, Sierra Leone.

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a micro-donation

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a micro-donation

Subscribe to the ZENIT Daily Email Newsletter

Receive the latest news of the Church and the world in your inbox every day. 

Thank you for subscribing! We will confirm your subscription via email. Please check your spam folder if you do not receive it soon.