St. Peter's Square © Vatican Museums

Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith: Seven New Members Are Appointed to Its College of Appeals

In the Matter of Serious Offenses

Share this Entry

On July 29, 2019, Pope Francis appointed seven new members of the College of Appeals, within the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, in the matter of serious offenses.
The new members are Monsignor Filippo Iannone, Monsignor Andrea Migliavacca, Monsignor Egidio Miragoli, Monsignor Carlo Roberto Maria Redaelli, Monsignor Arthur Roche, Monsignor Pier Antonio Pavanello and Monsignor Cyril Vasil’. The Holy Father also appointed Monsignor Jose Luis Mollaghan the College’s Deputy.
The College is made up of seven Cardinals or Bishops. According to what is specified in Article 52 of the Apostolic Constitution Pastor Bonus, the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith  “judges the offenses against the faith and the most serious offenses committed against morality or in the celebration of the Sacraments, which are pointed out to it and, where appropriate, states or inflicts the canonical sanctions in virtue of the law, both common and proper.

Share this Entry

Anne Kurian-Montabone

Laurea in Teologia (2008) alla Facoltà di teologia presso l'Ecole cathedrale di Parigi. Ha lavorato 8 anni per il giornale settimanale francese France Catholique" e participato per 6 mese al giornale "Vocation" del servizio vocazionale delle chiesa di Parigi. Co-autore di un libro sulla preghiera al Sacro Cuore. Dall'ottobre 2011 è Collaboratrice della redazione francese di Zenit."

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation