Nine New Saints to Be Proclaimed

Including Six Founders of Congregations

Share this Entry

VATICAN CITY, MAR. 8, 2001 ( John Paul II will solemnly canonize nine new saints, including six founders of religious congregations, next Tuesday.

In an ordinary public consistory at the Vatican, the Pope will canonize Bishop Giuseppe Marello, founder of the Oblates of St. Joseph; as well as Father Luigi Scrosoppi, founder of the Sisters of Providence of St. Gaetano da Thiene; and Father Agostino Roscelli, founder of the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

A Vatican list also names three nuns who founded religious families. They are Teresa Eustochio Verzeri, founder of the Institute of the Daughters of the Sacred Heart of Jesus; Paola Montal Fornes of St. Joseph Calasanz, founder of the Institute of the Daughters of Mary, of the Religious Schools; and Francesca Salesia Aviat, founder of the Oblates of St. Francis of Sales.

The remaining three are also religious: Maria Crescentia Hoss, Third Order of St. Francis, nun; Rebecca Pietra Ar-Rayes of Himlaya, nun of the Lebanese Order of St. Anthony of the Maronites; and Bernardo da Corleone (his baptismal name was Filippo Latino), of the Capuchin Friars Minor.

Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation