New Devotional Practice for After Easter

Via Lucis Has Its 14 Stations

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

ROME, APR. 23, 2001 ( The Lenten practice of the Way of the Cross now has an Easter season counterpart: the Way of the Light.

The paschal Way of the Light, or Via Lucis, is a new religious practice proper to the post-Easter liturgical period. It is spreading to numerous Christian parishes and communities.

The new practice has characteristics similar to the Way of the Cross, or Via Crucis, and can be prayed personally or in community.

Instead of carrying the cross, a symbol of the Passion, a paschal candle or icon of the Resurrection is raised for all to see. Just as Friday is the special day for the Via Crucis, Sunday is the day for the Via Lucis.

The Via Lucis includes 14 stations for reflection on Christ´s pasch, from his resurrection to Pentecost. There are readings of the biblical narratives corresponding to each station, followed by silence, meditative prayer, and a brief Easter hymn.

Following is one of many suggestions for Via Lucis stations.

1. Jesus rises from the dead;
2. The disciples find the empty tomb;
3. Jesus appears to Mary Magdalen;
4. Jesus walks with the disciples to Emmaus;
5. Jesus reveals himself in the breaking of bread;
6. Jesus appears to the disciples;
7. Jesus confers on his disciples the power to forgive sins;
8. Jesus confirms Thomas in faith;
9. Jesus appears to his disciples on the shore of Lake Galilee;
10. Jesus confers primacy on Peter;
11. Jesus entrusts his disciples with a universal mission;
12. Jesus ascends into heaven;
13. Mary and the disciples await the Holy Spirit´s Pentecost;
14. Jesus sends the Spirit promised by the Father to his disciples.

There are guidelines and texts for Via Lucis station meditations on Internet. Among others, you may consult:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation