New Cardinals Appointed to Curia Posts

VATICAN CITY, MAY 16, 2001 ( John Paul II has appointed a number of the newest cardinals to congregations of the Roman Curia.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

The appointments, coming on the eve of an extraordinary consistory scheduled for May 21-24, are:

Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith: Cardinals Ignace Moussa I Daoud, Giovanni Battista Re, Ivan Dias, Desmond Connell, Zenon Grocholewski and Walter Kasper.

Congregation for the Oriental Churches: Cardinals Varkey Vithayathil, Lubomyr Husar, Karl Lehmann, Agostino Cacciavillan and Walter Kasper.

Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments: Cardinals Ivan Dias, Juan Luis Cipriani Thorne, Cláudio Hummes, Jorge Mario Bergoglio, Cormac Murphy-O´Connor, François Xavier Nguyên Van Thuân, José Saraiva Martins and Mario Francesco Pompedda.

Congregation for the Causes of Saints: Cardinals Janis Pujats, Juan Luis Cipriani Thorne and Jorge María Mejía.

Congregation for Bishops: Cardinals Desmond Connell, Louis-Marie Billé, Karl Lehmann, Agostino Cacciavillan, Zenon Grocholewski and José Saraiva Martins.

Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples: Cardinals Wilfrid Fox Napier, Bernard Agré, Ignacio Antonio Velasco García, François Xavier Nguyên Van Thuân and Agostino Cacciavillan.

Congregation for the Clergy: Cardinals Marian Jaworski, Johannes Joachim Degenhardt, Oscar Andrés Rodríguez Maradiaga, Jorge Mario Bergoglio, Severino Poletto, Sergio Sebastiani and Crescenzio Sepe.

Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life: Cardinals Francisco Javier Errázuriz Ossa, Wilfrid Fox Napier and Jorge Mario Bergoglio.

Congregation for Catholic Education: Cardinals Christoph Schönborn, Johannes Joachim Degenhardt, Ivan Dias, Pedro Rubiano Sáenz, Audrys Juozas Backis and Josá da Cruz Policarpo.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation