Holy See Announces Curial Appointments

Pope Names Several To Key Positions Within the Roman Curia

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

On Saturday, the Holy See announced several changes, appointments and confirmations in the Roman Curia made by Pope Francis.

The Holy Father accepted the resignation of the Major Penitentiary, Cardinal Manuel Monteiro de Castro, who resigned upon reaching the age limit established in Canon Law. Taking his place will be Cardinal Mauro Piacenza, who was currently serving as prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy.

The Pope named Archbishop Beniamino Stella, who has served as president of the Pontifical Ecclesiastical Academy, as Cardinal Piacenza’s successor as prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy.

Archbishop Gerhard Ludwig Müller, was confirmed as prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith. Archbishop Luis Francisco Ladaria Ferrer and Archbishop Joseph Augustine Di Noia were named Secretary and Adjunct Secretary of the same dicastery, respectively.

In the Congregation for the Evangelization of the Peoples, Pope Francis confirmed Cardinal Fernando Filoni as prefect, with Archbishop Savio Hon Tai Fai serving as secretary and Archbishop Protase Ruganbwa, as adjunct secretary.

Pope Francis also appointed Archbishop Nikola Eterovic, who up until has served as Secretary General of the Synod of Bishops as the new apostolic nuncio to Germany.

Finally, the Holy Father appointed as Legate and President of the Pontifical Ecclesiastical Academy Giampiero Gloder, Head of Office with Special Responsibilities in the Secretariat of State, elevating him at the same time to the dignity of Archbishop.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation