Archbishop Chaput Appointed to Vatican's Laity Council

President and Secretary Confirmed in Posts

Share this Entry

The Holy See announced Thursday that Pope Francis confirmed Cardinal Stanislaw Rylko as president of the Pontifical Council for the Laity, and Bishop Josef Clemens as secretary.

He also named Philadelphia’s archbishop, Charles Chaput, to the council.

Others appointed are the following: Cardinal Christoph Schonborn, archbishop of Vienna, Austria; Cardinal Angelo Scola, archbishop of Milan, Italy; Cardinal John Njue, archbishop of Nairobi, Kenya; Cardinal Reinhardt Marx, archbishop of Munich and Friesling, Federal Republic of Germany; Cardinal Willem Jacobus Eijk, archbishop of Utrecht, Netherlands; Cardinal Luis Antonio G. Tagle, archbishop of Manila, Philippines; Cardinal Joao Braz de Aviz, prefect of the Congregation for the Institutes of Consecrated Life and the Societies of Apostolic Life; Archbishop Orani Joao Tempesta of Sao Sebastiao do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; Dr. Yago De La Cierva, Spain, lecturer in Crisis Management and Communication at the Faculty of Social Institutional Communication of the Pontifical University of the Holy Cross in Rome; Dr. Irene Egle Laumenskaite, lecturer at the Centre for Religious Studies and Research at the University of Vilnius, Lithuania; Dr. Fabrice Hadjadj, director of the Institut Europeen d’Etudes Anthropologiques Philanthropos in Fribourg, Switzerland; Dr. Jocelyn Khoueiry, foundress of the Associations “La Libanaise-Femme du 31 mai” and “Oui a la vie”, Lebanon; Dr. Franco Miano, national president of Italian Catholic Action; Dr. Genevieve Amelie Mathilde Sanze, Central African Republic, representative for Africa of the International Secretariat of Economy of Communion.

– appointed the following consultors of the Pontifical Council for the Laity: Archbishop Alberto Taveira Correa of Belem do Para, Brazil; Archbishop Filippo Santoro of Taranto, Italy; Bishop Anders Arborelius of Stockholm, Sweden; Bishop Dominique Rey of Frejus Toulon, France; Bishop Christoph Hegge, auxiliary of Munster, Germany; Fr. Arturo Cattaneo, professor in the faculty of canon law of St. Pius X of Venice, Italy; Fr. Fra Hans Stapel, O.F.M., founder and president of the International Association of the Faithful Family of Hope, Brazil; Alejandra Keen von Wuthenau, superior general of the Marian Fraternity of Reconciliation, Peru; Dr. Laurent Landete, moderator of the Community of the Emmanuel, France; Mimmo Muolo, journalist from the daily newspaper “Avvenire”, Italy; Marguerite A. Peeters, Belgium/U.S.A., director of the Institute for the Intercultural Dialogue Dynamics; Silvia Recchi, Italian professor of canon law at the Catholic University of Central Africa in Yaounde, Cameroon; Maite Uribe Bilbao, El Salvador, director general of the Theresian Institute.

Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation