© Vatican Media

Pope Makes Episcopal Appointments

Names Members of the Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

Waiver of the Włocławek Auxiliary (Poland)

The Holy Father accepted the renunciation of the office of Auxiliary Bishop of the Diocese of Włocławek (Poland), presented by His Most Reverend Excellency Archbishop Stanisław Gębicki.


Appointment of the Apostolic Vicar of Yurimaguas (Peru)

The Holy Father appointed Rev. Fr. Jesús María Aristín Seco, CP, until now Apostolic Administrator of the same Vicariate, as Apostolic Vicar of the Apostolic Vicariate of Yurimaguas (Peru).

Rev.do P. Jesús María Aristín Seco, CP

Rev. P. Jesús María Aristín Seco CP, was born on December 25, 1954, in Santa Cecilia del Alcor, Palencia (Spain). After primary and secondary studies in the Minor Seminary of the PP. Passionists from Euba (Vizcaya), studied theology at the University of Deusto in Bilbao. He holds a Licentiate in Theology from the Gregorian University in Rome and a Licentiate in Clinical Psychology from the Universidad Nacional de Educación (UNED) in Madrid.

He made his perpetual profession on April 14, 1979, in the Congregation of the Passion of Jesus Christ (CP). He was ordained a priest on September 23, 1979.

After priestly ordination, he held the following positions: parish vicar in the Parish of the Passion, Bilbao (1981); Studies in Rome for a Licentiate in Theology (1980-1983); Missionary in Tarapoto, in the Prelature of Moyobamba, Peru (1984); Parish Vicar of the Parish of El Triunfo de la Santísima Cruz of Tarapoto (1985), parish priest since June 5, 1988; Parish priest of the San José de Sisa Parish and Episcopal Vicar for the provinces of San Martín and Lamas (1989); new assignment in Spain (1992); Provincial Consultor for two terms, Secretary of the Missions and Provincial Prosecutor for the Missions in Spain (2001-2006); Secretary General of the Missions at the Office of Solidarity and Passionist Missionsin the General Curia in Rome (2006-2016); since 2016 Apostolic Administrator vacant seat and ad nutum Sanctae Sedis of the Apostolic Vicariate of Yurimaguas.


Appointment of Auxiliary of the Metropolitan Archdiocese of São Paulo (Brazil)

The Holy Father has appointed Rev. P. Angelo Ademir Mezzari, RCI, previously parish priest of Nossa Senhora das Graças in Bauru, assigning him the titular bishop’s seat of Fiorentino.

Rev.do P. Ângelo Ademir Mezzari, RCI

Rev. P. Angelo Ademir Mezzari, RCI, was born on April 2, 1957, in Forquilhinha, in the Diocese of Criciúma, in the State of Santa Catarina. He completed his studies in Philosophy in the Nossa Senhora Medianeira Faculty in São Paulo (1979) and in Theology in the Pio XI Theological Institute in São Paulo (1984). He attended the Journalism course at the Federal University of Paraná in Curitiba-PR (1986-1989) and obtained his license in Dogmatic Theology in the Pontifical Faculty of Nossa Senhora da Assunçã in São Paulo (2003).

On January 31, 1981, he made his religious profession in the Congregation of Rogationists of the Heart of Jesus and received priestly ordination on December 22, 1984.

Within the Congregation, he carried out the following assignments: Trainer of Philosophy students and Parish Vicar in Curitiba-PR (1985-1989); Trainer of theology students and Director of the Socio-educational Institute in São Paulo (1990-2002); Director of the Vocational Pastoral Institute (1993-2002) and President of the Superior Council of the same Institute (2005-2010); Provincial Councilor (1989-1998); Provincial Superior of the São Lucas Province (2002-2010); Superior General in Rome (2010-2016).

In addition, he was President of the Municipal Social Assistance Council of the city of São Paulo (2000-2002) and Councilor of the Department of Vocations and Ministries of the Brazilian Episcopal Conference and of CELAM.

He is currently parish priest of Nossa Senhora das Graças in the diocese of Bauru and member of the college of consultors of the same diocese.


Appointment of Members of the Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue

The Holy Father counted the Cardinals Luis Antonio G. Tagle , Prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples among the Members of the Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue ; Dieudonné Nzapalainga , Archbishop of Bangui; Louis-Marie Ling Mangkhanekhoun , Apostolic Vicar of Vientiane; Ignatius Suharyo Hardjoatmodjo , Archbishop of Jakarta and Military Ordinary for Indonesia; Jean-Claude Höllerich , Archbishop of Luxembourg; and Michael Czerny , Sub-Secretary of the Migrants and Refugees Section of the Dicastery for the Integral Human Development Service; and Ecc.mi Monsignori Lawrence Huculak, Archbishop of Winnipeg of the Ukrainians; Felix Anthony Machado , Archbishop, Bishop of Vasai; George Frendo , Archbishop of Tiranë-Durrës; Mark Tin Win , Archbishop of Mandalay; Jean-Marc Aveline , Archbishop of Marseille; Paul Yoshinao Otsuka , Bishop of Kyōto; Thomas Chung An-zu , Archbishop of Taipei; Raphy Manjaly , Bishop of Allahabad; Ambrogio Spreafico , Bishop of Frosinone-Veroli-Ferentino; Michael Joseph McKenna , Bishop of Bathurst; William Hanna Shomali , Titular Bishop by Lidda; Denis Chidi Isizoh , titular Bishop of Legia;Patrick Joseph McKinney , Bishop of Nottingham; James Massa , Titular Bishop from Bardstown; Paul Desfarges , Archbishop of Alger; and Joseph Đình Đúc Đao , Bishop of Xuân Lôc.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation