President Named for Monuments Commission

VATICAN CITY, JAN. 8, 2010 ( Benedict XVI appointed Antonio Paolucci, director of the Vatican Museums, as president of the Permanent Commission for the Protection of Historical and Artistic Monuments of the Holy See.

Share this Entry

This appointment by the Pope was announced today by the Vatican press office. The Pontiff named as secretary of the commission Maria Cristina Carlo-Stella, who is currently serving as bureau chief of the office in charge of construction matters related to St. Peter’s.
The Holy Father also appointed Monsignor Nicolas Henry Marie Denis Thevenin, nunciature counselor, as a protonotary apostolic “de numero participantium.”
On Wednesday, Benedict XVI accepted the resignation of Bishop Nechan Karakeheyan, 77, ordinary for Armenian Catholics of Eastern Europe, and appointed Father Vahan Ohanian of the Mechitarist order, as apostolic administrator of the ordinariate.
On Tuesday, the Pope appointed Father Lisane-Christos Matheos Semahun as auxiliary bishop of the Archdiocese of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, with specific pastoral responsibility for the Bahir Dar zone.

Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation