Opening Holy Door at St. Peter


Pope Francis' Council of Cardinals Begins 12th Meeting

Gathered in Rome till Saturday

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

This morning, Pope Francis’ 12th meeting with the Council of Cardinals (“C9”) began in Vatican City. The meeting will continue until Saturday.

The Holy Father created the C9 to advise him in the governance of the Church, and particularly on plans for reforming the Apostolic Constitution “Pastor Bonus” on the Roman Curia.

They last met in September.

The Council of Cardinals consists of the following nine prelates: Cardinal Giuseppe Bertello, president of the Pontifical Commission for the Vatican City State; Cardinal Francisco Javier Errazuriz Ossa, Archbishop Emeritus of Santiago, Chile; Cardinal Oswald Gracias, Archbishop of Bombay; Cardinal Reinhard Marx, Archbishop of Munich; Cardinal Laurent Monsengwo Pasinya, Archbishop of Kinshasa, Congo; Cardinal Sean Patrick O’Malley, Archbishop of Boston; Cardinal George Pell, prefect of the Secretariat for the Economy; Cardinal Oscar Andres Rodriguez Maradiaga, Archbishop of Tegucigalpa, Honduras; and Cardinal Pietro Parolin, the Vatican Secretary of State.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation