Vespers © Vatican Media

Chicago, Indianapolis Prelates on List of New Cardinals

Cupich, Tobin, Farrell to get red hats

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

At the end of his Angelus address today, Pope Francis announced there will be a consistory for the creation of 17 new Cardinals on Nov. 19, the eve of the closing of the Year of Mercy.
Of the 17 new cardinals, 13 will be under 80 and thus eligible to vote in a conclave.
On the list are the prelates of Chicago and Indianapolis, as well as the Irish-born bishop of Dallas who has been appointed the head of the Vatican’s new Dicastery for Laity, Family and Life.
The Holy Father said that the those chosen come from five continents.
Here is the list:
Archbishop Mario Zenari, Italy
Archbishop Dieudonné Nzapalainga, Central African Republic
Archbishop Carlos Osoro Sierra, Spain
Archbishop Sérgio da Rocha, Brazil
Archbishop Blase J. Cupich, U.S.A.

Related: Archbishop Cupich Tells Journalists He Sees Transformation in Synod Hall

Archbishop Patrick D’Rozario, Bangladesh
Archbishop Baltazar Enrique Porras Cardozo, Venezuela
Archbishop Jozef De Kesel, Belgium
Archbishop Maurice Piat, Mauritius
Archbishop Kevin Joseph Farrell, U.S.A.

Related: Archbishop Farrell, appointed prefect of Dicastery for Laity, Family, Life, tells Zenit it’s the ‘age of the laity’

Archbishop Carlos Aguiar Retes, Mexico
Archbishop John Ribat, Papua Nuova Guinea
Archbishop Mons. Joseph William Tobin, U.S.A.
Archbishop Anthony Soter Fernandez, Archbishop Emeritus of Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Archbishop Renato Corti, Archbishop Emeritus of Novara Italy
Archbishop Sebastian Koto Khoarai, Bishop Emeritus of Mohale’s Hoek Lesotho
Father Ernest Simoni, presbytery of the Archdiocese of Shkodrë-Pult, Scutari – Albania.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation