VATICAN CITY, NOV. 24, 2003 ( John Paul II appointed new cardinals to dicasteries of the Roman Curia, including Jean-Louis Tauran as new archivist and librarian of the Holy Roman Church.

The Pope accepted the resignation of Cardinal Jorge Maria Mejía, 80, as archivist and librarian, for reasons of age, the Vatican press office said in statements today.

The cardinals and their new appointments are:

-- Jean-Louis Tauran and Attilio Nicora to the Council of Cardinals and Bishops of the Section for Relations with States in the Vatican Secretariat of State.

-- Jean-Louis Tauran to the Congregation for Eastern Churches.

-- Justin Rigali, Josip Bozanic, Jean-Baptiste Pham Minh Mân, Philippe Barbarin and Marc Ouellet to the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Sacraments.

-- Jean-Louis Tauran, Julián Herranz, Javier Lozano Barragán and Attilio Nicora to the Congregation for Bishops.

-- Renato Martino, Javier Lozano Barragán, Stephen Hamao, Attilio Nicora, Anthony Olubunmi Okogie, Gabriel Zubeir Wako, Telesphore Placidus Toppo and Jean-Baptiste Pham Minh Mân to the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples.

-- Angelo Scola and Tarcisio Bertone to the Congregation for Clergy.

-- Philippe Barbarin of the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life.

-- Francesco Marchisano and Peter Erdo to the Congregation for Catholic Education.

-- Julián Herranz to the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signature.

-- Ennio Antonelli and Josip Bozanic to the Pontifical Council for Laity.

-- Peter Kodwo Appiah Turkson to the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity.

-- Angelo Scola and George Pell to the Pontifical Council for the Family.

-- Stephen Fumio Hamao, Bernard Panafieu and George Pell to the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace.

-- Renato Martino, Stephen Fumio Hamao and Gabriel Zubeir Wako to the Pontifical Council "Cor Unum."

-- Keith O'Brien to the Pontifical Council for Migrants and Travelers.

-- Carlos Amigo Vallejo to the Pontifical Council for Health Care Workers.

-- Peter Erdo to the Pontifical Council for the Interpretation of Legislative Texts.

-- Bernard Panafieu and Telesphore Placidus Toppo to the Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue.

-- Francesco Marchisano and Rodolfo Quezada Toruño to the Pontifical Council for Culture.

-- Anthony Olubunmi Okogie, Keith O'Brien, Eusebio Scheid and Ennio Antonelli to the Pontifical Council for Social Communications.

-- Renato Martino and Justin Rigali to the Administration of the Patrimony of the Holy See.

-- Francesco Marchisano and Peter Kodwo Appiah Turkson to the Pontifical Commission for the Cultural Goods of the Church.

-- Julián Herranz of the Pontifical Commission "Ecclesia Dei."

In addition, the Pope appointed Cardinals Javier Lozano Barragán, Eusebio Scheid and Marc Ouellet as counselors of the Pontifical Commission for Latin American and Cardinals Carlos Amigo Vallejo and Rodolfo Quezada Toruño, as members of the same pontifical commission.

-- Archbishop Giovanni Lajolo, secretary of the Section for the Relations with States of the Secretariat of State, was named a consultant of the Congregation for Bishops.