3 Cardinals to Preside Over Synod

VATICAN CITY, MARCH 13, 2005 (Zenit.org).- John Paul II appointed three cardinals to preside over the next assembly of the Synod of Bishops that will be dedicated to the Eucharist.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

Cardinals Francis Arinze, prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Sacraments; Juan Sandoval, archbishop of Guadalajara, Mexico; and Telesphore Toppo, archbishop of Ranchi, India, will rotate as president, even if the Pope is present, the Vatican press office announced Saturday.

The synod will be held here Oct. 2-29 and close out the Year of the Eucharist.

Other appointments include Cardinal Angelo Scola, patriarch of Venice, as general rapporteur, and Archbishop Roland Minnerath of Dijon, France, as special secretary.

The general rapporteur summarizes converging points arising from the participants’ addresses. These points are then discussed in separate, small groups.

The general rapporteur and the special secretary collect the list of propositions voted on by the synodal fathers, which is then given to the Pope, who writes an apostolic exhortation.

The preparation of the synod is made by the general secretary of the Synod of Bishops, Archbishop Nikola Eterovic of Croatia, in the form of a working document.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation