Pontiff Names 36 to Synod on Eucharist

October Event to Attract About 250

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

VATICAN CITY, SEPT. 8, 2005 (Zenit.org).- The Vatican published the names of 36 cardinals, bishops and priests named by Benedict XVI as members of the forthcoming Synod of Bishops on the Eucharist.

The Vatican press office today released the names, which include four prelates from mainland China.

The 11th Ordinary General Assembly of the Synod of Bishops, on “The Eucharist: Source and Summit of the Life and Mission of the Church,” will be held Oct. 2-23. Some 250 members in all are expected to attend.

Other attendees at the synod will include bishops elected by episcopal conferences; major patriarchs and archbishops of the Eastern-rite Catholic Churches; religious elected by the Roman Union of Superiors General; and the cardinal prefects of Roman Curia dicasteries.

Here is the list of the ecclesiastics named by the Pope:


Joachim Meisner, archbishop of Cologne, Germany;
Miguel Obando Bravo, retired archbishop of Managua, Nicaragua;
Jozef Tomko, president of the Pontifical Commission for International Eucharistic Congresses;
Adrianus Johannes Simonis, archbishop of Utrecht, Netherlands;

Edmund Szoka, president of the Governorate of Vatican City;
Vinko Puljic, archbishop of Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina;
Paul Shan Kuo-hsi, bishop of Kaohsiung, Taiwan;
Ivan Dias, archbishop of Bombay, India;

Francisco Errázuriz Ossa, archbishop of Santiago, Chile, and president of the Latin American bishops’ council;
George Pell, archbishop of Sydney, Australia;
Marc Ouellet, archbishop of Quebec;
Jorge Arturo Medina Estévez, retired prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Sacraments;

Jean-Louis Tauran, archivist and librarian of the Holy Roman Church;
Francesco Marchisano, archpriest of the Vatican basilica;
Georges Cottier, theologian of the Pontifical Household;


Paul Verdzekov of Bamenda, Cameroon;
Joseph Powathil of Changanacherry of the Syro-Malabars, India;
Joseph Mohsen Béchara of Antelias of the Maronites, Lebanon;
Francesco Cacucci of Bari-Bitonto, Italy;

John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan of Abuja, Nigeria, and president of the Symposium of the Episcopal Conferences of Africa and Madagascar;
Stefan Soroka of Philadelphia of the Ukrainians, U.S.A.;
Oswald Gomis of Colombo, Sri Lanka, and secretary-general of the Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences;
Cyrille Salim Bustros, of Newton of the Greek-Melkites, U.S.A.;


Denis Browne of Hamilton, New Zealand, and president of the Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania;
Amédée Grab, of Chur, Switzerland, and president of the Council of European Episcopal Conferences;
Javier Echevarría Rodríguez, prelate of Opus Dei;
Joseph Zen Ze-Kiun, of Hong Kong;

Jean-Louis Bruguès, of Angers, France;
Arthur Roche of Leeds, England;
Menghisteab Tesfamariam of Asmara, Eritrea;
Anthony Li Duan, Xian, China;

Luke Li Jingfeng, Fengxiang, China;
Louis Jin Luxian, Shanghai;
Joseph Wei Jingyi, Qiqihar, China;


Peter-Hans Kolvenbach, superior general of the Society of Jesus;
Julián Carrón, president of Communion and Liberation.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation