Benedict XVI Imposes Pallium on Cardinal Scola

Archbishop of Milan to Be Installed Sunday

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

CASTEL GANDOLFO, Italy, SEPT. 21, 2011 ( Benedict XVI imposed the pallium on Cardinal Angelo Scola, archbishop of Milan, Italy, on the 20th anniversary of the cardinal’s ordination to the episcopate.

In a ceremony that took place today at the pontifical residence of Castel Gandolfo, the Pope made an exception to the traditional practice of imposing the pallium on all new archbishops on June 29, the feast of Sts. Peter and Paul.

The pallium is a white band embroidered with six black crosses and worn over the shoulders. It has two hanging pieces, front and back. Worn by the Pope and by metropolitan archbishops, the pallium symbolizes authority and expresses the special bond between the bishops and the Roman Pontiff.

During the ceremony, Benedict XVI urged the Church in Milan, the industrial and financial center of Italy, to not lose sight of God or the values of faith. He added that Milan should keep its eyes firmly on Christ.

On June 28, the Pope announced the new post for Cardinal Scola, 69, who had served as the patriarch of Venice since 2002. The cardinal succeeds Cardinal Dionigi Tettamanzi, 77, who has retired for reasons of age.

The Archdiocese of Milan has nearly 5 million Catholics served by some 3,000 priests; it is one of the largest archdioceses of the world, and one of great historical importance.

Angelo Scola was born in Malgrate, Italy, within the Milan Archdiocese, in 1941. He was ordained a priest in 1970, became a bishop in 1991, and served as the rector of the Pontifical Lateran University. He was named the patriarch of Venice in 2002, and the next year was made a cardinal.

The cardinal is closely associated with the Communion and Liberation movement, and has had a part in the development of the theological journals Communio and Oasis.

The ecclesiastical province of which Cardinal Scola is metropolitan archbishop includes the 10 dioceses in the Italian region of Lombardy: Milan, Bergamo, Brescia, Como, Crema, Cremona, Lodi, Mantua, Pavia and Vigevano. He will be installed as the archbishop of Milan on Sunday.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation