Names of Synod Fathers Released By The Holy See

VATICAN CITY, SEPT. 18, 2012 ( Here is the list of Synod Fathers that Pope Benedict XVI has named for the upcoming XIII Ordinary General Assembly of the Synod of Bishops which will take place from October 7th – 28th on the theme of “The New Evangelization for the Transmission of the Christian Faith”.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

* * *


Cardinal Angelo Sodano, dean of the College of Cardinals.

Cardinal Joachim Meisner, archbishop of Cologne, Germany.

Cardinal Vinko Puljic, archbishop of Vrhbosna-Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Cardinal Polycarp Pengo, archbishop of Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania and president of SECAM/SCEAM (Symposium of the Episcopal Conferences of Africa and Madagascar).

Cardinal Christoph Schonborn O.P., archbishop of Vienna, Austria.

Cardinal George Pell, archbishop of Sydney, Australia.

Cardinal Josip Bozanic, archbishop of Zagreb, Croatia.

Cardinal Peter Erdo, archbishop of Esztergom-Budapest, Hungary and president of CCEE (Council of European Episcopal Conferences).

Cardinal Agostino Vallini, His Holiness’ vicar general for the diocese of Rome.

Cardinal Lluis Martinez Sistach, archbishop of Barcelona, Spain.

Cardinal Andre Vingt-Trois, archbishop of Paris, France.

Cardinal Oswald Gracias, archbishop of Bombay, India and secretary general of FABC (Federation of Asian Bishops’ Conferences).


Patriarch Francesco Moraglia of Venice, Italy.

Archbishop John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan of Abuja, Nigeria.

Archbishop Hector Ruben Aguer of La Plata, Argentina.

Archbishop Antonio Arregui Yarza of Guayaquil, Ecuador, president of the Ecuadorian Episcopal Conference.

Archbishop John Atcherley Dew of Wellington, New Zealand, president of FCBCO (Federation of Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of Oceania).

Archbishop Jose Octavio Ruiz Arenas, secretary of the Pontifical Council for Promoting New Evangelization.

Archbishop Jose Horacio Gomez of Los Angeles, U.S.A.

Archbishop Carlos Aguiar Retes of Tlalnepantla, president of CELAM (Latin American Episcopal Council).

Archbishop Bernard Longley of Birmingham, England.

Archbishop Ricardo Antonio Tobon Restrepo of Medellin, Colombia.

Archbishop Luis Antonio G. Tagle of Manila, Philippines.

Archbishop Filippo Santoro of Taranto, Italy.


Bishop Javier Echevarria Rodriguez, prelate of the Personal Prelature of Opus Dei.

Bishop Dominique Rey of Frejus-Toulon, France.

Bishop Menghisteab Tesfamariam M.C.C.J., eparch of Asmara, Eritrea.

Bishop Benedito Beni dos Santos of Lorena, Brazil.

Bishop Santiago Jaime Silva Retamales, auxiliary of Valparaiso, Chile and secretary general of CELAM.

Bishop Luigi Negri of San Marino-Montefeltro, Italy.

Bishop Alberto Francisco Sanguinetti Montero of Canelones, Uruguay.

Bishop Enrico Dal Covolo S.D.B., rector of the Pontifical Lateran University in Rome.

Reverend Fathers:

Fr. Julian Carron, president of the Fraternity of Communion and Liberation.

Fr. Renato Salvatore M.I., superior general of the Clerks Regular Ministers to the Sick (Camillians).

Fr. Heinrich Walter, superior general of the Schoenstatt Fathers.

Fr. Jose Panthaplamthottiyil C.M.I., prior general of the Carmelites of Mary Immaculate.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation