Chart-topping Nuns Releasing Lent Album

Missouri Contemplatives Expected to Have 3rd No. 1 Hit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

The critically acclaimed Benedictines of Mary, Queen of Apostles, are releasing an album for Lent, after their Advent hit.

Lent at Ephesus is a seasonal recording of a compilation of chants and hymns of glory and redemption.

The album will be released Feb. 11. It features 23 tracks, including “O Sacred Head Surrounded,” made famous by Bach’s oratorios; “All Glory Laud and Honor”; the well-known “Adoramus Te Christe”; the entrancing “Improperia” from the liturgy of Good Friday; and three original pieces.

“In what continues to be an incredible expression of Truth through Beauty, the Benedictines of Mary have outdone themselves with this angelic collection of their monastic Lenten songs found in Lent at Ephesus,” said Monica Fitzgibbons, cofounder of De Montfort Music. “To encounter this music is to be invited and included in a very special expression of love from the depths of the human soul as they devote each breathtaking and heartfelt note to their Divine Spouse. With a perfect transcendent purity, The Benedictines of Mary lift us through a heavenly journey of the ultimate expression of His love and mercy for mankind for the season of Lent. We are incredibly grateful that the Sisters have agreed to share Lent at Ephesus with the world!”

The Missouri-based contemplative nuns were named Billboard magazine’s Classical Traditional Artist 2012 and 2013. It’s the first order of nuns to ever win an award in the history of Billboard magazine. The Sisters were recognized for their two bestselling albums, ANGELS AND SAINTS AT EPHESUS, which spent 13 consecutive weeks at No. 1 on Billboard’s Classical Traditional Music chart, and ADVENT AT EPHESUS, which spent six consecutive weeks at No. 1 on the same chart.

Lent at Ephesus was produced by Grammy Award-winning classical producer Blanton Alspaugh, who said of his experience recording the Sisters: “Their singing has a very pure and yet sophisticated style.  It certainly earns its place in the international arena of classical music. Their talent is as remarkable as their sense of charity.  To record them at their priory was one of the highlights of my career.”

The full track list for the album:

1.         Jesus, My Love                                              

2.         Christus Factus Est                                        

3.         God of Mercy and Compassion                     

4.         Hosanna To the Son Of David                      

5.         Jesu Dulcis Amor Meus                                 

6.         Jesu Salvator Mundi                                                  

7.         Improperia                                                      

8.         On the Way of the Cross                               

9.         Pueri Hebræorum                                           

10.       O Sacred Head Surrounded                          

11.       Adoramus Te Christe (Ravanello)                 

12.       Stabat Mater                                                  

13.       Divine Physician                                            

14.       Vexilla Regis                                                  

15.       Mother of Sorrows                                         

16.       Vere Languores Nostros                                

17.       Tenebræ factæ sunt                                        

18.       O Come and Mourn                                       

19.       Adoramus Te Christe (Dubois)                      

20.       Crux Fidelis                                                               

21.       All Glory, Laud and Honor                           

22.       Ave Regina Cælorum                                                

23.       My Mercy

The album features a 12-page booklet with original artwork and all the lyrics in English (Latin songs are translated in English, as well). The booklet also will be available digitally with the album on iTunes.

To pre-order:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

Kathleen Naab

United States

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation