Donate now

Pope Names ‘Delegate Presidents” for Synod on Youth

Will Oversee Sessions on Behalf of Holy Father

Pope Francis on July 14, 2018, named four “delegate presidents” for the Synod of Bishops 2018: “Young People, the Faith, and Vocational Discernment.”

The synod will run from October 3-28, 2018, at the Vatican. The four will preside over the various sessions of the synod on the Holy Father’s behalf and will sign the documents that are issued.

The delegate presidents are:

  • Chaldean Patriarch Cardinal Louis Raphael I Sako of Babylon (Iraq)
  • Cardinal Désiré Tsarahazana, Archbishop of Toamasina (Madagascar)
  • Cardinal Charles Maung Bo SDB., Archbishop of Yangon (Myanmar)
  • Cardinal John Ribat MSC, Archbishop of Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea)

About ZENIT Staff

Share this Entry

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation