List of New Cardinals

VATICAN CITY, JAN. 21, 2001 (

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

John Paul II disclosed today the new cardinals he will create in a consistory Feb. 21. Here is the complete list of new cardinals.

1. Archbishop Giovanni Battista Re, prefect of Congregation for Bishops.
2. Archbishop François Xavier Nguyên Van Thuân, president of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace.
3. Archbishop Agostino Cacciavillan, president of the Administration of the Patrimony of the Holy See.
4. Archbishop Sergio Sebastiani, president of the Prefecture of the Holy See´s Economic Affairs.
5. Archbishop Zenon Grocholewski, prefect of the Congregation for Catholic Education.
6. Archbishop José Saraiva Martins, prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints.
7. Archbishop Crescenzio Sepe, secretary-general of the Great Jubilee Committee.
8. Archbishop Jorge María Mejía, archivist and librarian of the Holy Roman Church.
9. Patriarch Ignace Moussa I Daoud, prefect of the Congregation for the Oriental Churches
10. Archbishop Mario Francesco Pompedda, prefect of the Supreme Tribunal.
11. Walter Kasper, emeritus bishop of Rottenburg-Stuttgart, secretary of the Pontifical Council for the Promotion of Christian Unity.
12. Archbishop Antonio José González Zumárraga of Quito, Ecuador.
13. Archbishop Ivan Dias of Bombay, India.
14. Archbishop Geraldo Majella Agnelo of São Salvador da Bahia, Brazil.
15. Archbishop Pedro Rubiano Saenz of Bogota, Colombia.
16. Archbishop Theodore E. McCarrick of Washington, D.C.
17. Archbishop Desmond Connell of Dublin, Ireland.
18. Archbishop Audrys Juozas Backis of Vilnius, Lithuania.
19. Archbishop Francisco Javier Errázuriz Ossa of Santiago, Chile.
20. Archbishop Oscar Andrés Rodríguez Madariaga of Tegucigalpa, Honduras.
21. Archbishop Bernard Agre of Abidjan, Ivory Coast.
22. Archbishop Louis-Marie Bille of Lyon, France.
23. Archbishop Ignacio Antonio Velasco García of Caracas, Venezuela.
24. Archbishop Juan Luis Cipriani Thorne of Lima, Peru.
25. Archbishop Francisco Alvarez Martínez of Toledo, Spain.
26. Archbishop Claudio Hummes of São Paulo, Brazil.
27. Varkey Vithayathil, archbishop major of Ernakulam-Angemaly of the Siro-Malabaresi, India.
28. Archbishop Jorge Mario Bergoglio of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
29. Monsignor José da Cruz Policarpo, patriarch of Lisbon, Portugal.
30. Archbishop Severino Poletto of Turin, Italy.
31. Archbishop Cormac Murphy-O´Connor of Westminster, Britain.
32. Archbishop Edward Michael Egan of New York.
33. Stephanos II Ghattas, patriarch of Alexandria of the Copts.
34. Jean Honore, archbishop emeritus of Tours, France.
35. Father Roberto Tucci, Vatican Radio official.
36. Monsignor Leo Scheffczyk, a theologian from archdioceses of Munich and Feising in Germany.
37. Father Avery Dulles, theologian, professor at Fordham University, New York City.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation