Profiles of Dozen New Bishops

From Asia, Europe and Africa

Share this Entry

VATICAN CITY, JAN. 6, 2003 ( Here are the names and offices of the 12 bishops ordained by John Paul II in St. Peter’s Basilica today, solemnity of the Lord’s Epiphany.

1. Monsignor Paul Tschang In-Nam of the clergy of the Diocese of Ch’ongju, in South Korea, born Oct. 30, 1949, ordained a priest Dec. 17, 1976, named titular archbishop of Amanzia and appointed apostolic nuncio in Bangladesh on Oct. 19.

2. Monsignor Celestino Migliore of the clergy of the Diocese of Cuneo, in Italy, born July 1, 1952, ordained a priest June 25, 1977, named titular archbishop of Canosa and appointed permanent observer of the Holy See to the United Nations on Oct. 30.

3. Monsignor Pierre Nguyen Van Tot of the clergy of the Diocese of Phu Cuong, in Vietnam, born April 15, 1949, ordained a priest March 24, 1974, named titular archbishop of Rusticiana and appointed apostolic nuncio in Benin and Togo on Nov. 25.

4. Monsignor Pedro Lopez Quintana of the clergy of the Archdiocese of Santiago de Compostela, Spain, born July 27, 1953, ordained a priest June 15, 1980, named titular archbishop of Agropoli and appointed apostolic nuncio on Dec. 12.

5. Monsignor Angelo Amato of the Salesian Society of St. John Bosco, born June 8, 1938, ordained a priest Dec. 22, 1967, named titular archbishop of Sila and appointed secretary for the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith on Dec. 19.

6. Monsignor Calogero La Piana, of the Salesian Society of St. John Bosco, born Jan. 27, 1952, ordained a priest Aug. 8, 1981, elected bishop of Mazara del Vallo, in Italy, on Nov. 15.

7. Monsignro Rene-Marie Ehuzu of the Congregation of Jesus and Mary, born April 12, 1944, ordained a priest Sept. 30, 1972, named bishop of Abomey, Benin, on Nov. 25.

8. Monsignor Jan Babjak of the Society of Jesus, born Oct. 28, 1953, ordained a priest June 11, 1978, named bishop of the Eparchy of Presov, Slovakia, on Dec. 11.

9. Monsignor Andraos Abouna of the Patriarchal Eparchy of Baghdad, Iraq, born March 23, 1943, ordained a priest June 5, 1966, named titular bishop of Zenobia of the Chaldeans and appointed auxiliary of the Patriarchate of Babylonia of the Chaldeans, in Iraq, on Nov. 6.

10. Monsignor Milan Sasik of the Congregation for the Mission, born Sept. 17, 1952, ordained a priest June 6, 1976, named titular bishop of Bononia and appointed apostolic administrator “ad nutum Sanctae Sedis” of the Eparchy of Mukacheve, Ukraine, on Nov. 12.

11. Monsignor Giuseppe Nazzaro of the Order of Friars Minor, born Dec. 22, 1937, ordained a priest June 29, 1965, elected titular bishop of Forma and appointed apostolic vicar of Alep of the Latin rite, in Syria, on Nov. 21.

12. Monsignor Brian Farrell of the Legionaries of Christ, born Feb. 8, 1944, ordained a priest Nov. 26, 1969, named titular bishop of Abitine and appointed secretary of the Pontifical Council for the Promotion of Christian Unity on Dec. 19.

Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation