The New Cardinals and Their Duties

VATICAN CITY, OCT. 21, 2003 ( Of the 30 new cardinals installed by John Paul II, 18 are from Europe, three from Latin America, two from North America, three from Africa, three from Asia, and one from Oceania.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

Twenty-six are under 80, making it possible for them to participate in a future conclave to elect a new pope.

Among the new cardinals, seven are close collaborators of the Pope in the Roman Curia, 19 are pastors of key dioceses, and four, older than 80, have been distinguished in the study and defense of Catholic doctrine and the ecumenical dialogue.

A brief biography of each of the new cardinals is available at (

Following are the names of the 30 cardinals created by John Paul II in today’s consistory as well as the titular or diaconate churches that were assigned to them:

Collaborators in the Roman Curia

1. Cardinal Jean-Louis Tauran: Diaconate of St. Apollinaris alle Terme Neroniane-Alessandrine.
2. Cardinal Renato Raffaele Martino, president of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace: Diaconate of the St. Francis of Paola ai Monti.
3. Cardinal Francesco Marchisano, archpriest of the Vatican Basilica: Diaconate of St. Lucy of Gonfalone.
4. Cardinal Julián Herranz, president of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts: Diaconate of St. Eugene.
5. Cardinal Javier Lozano Barragán, president of the Pontifical Council for Health Care Workers: Diaconate of St. Michael the Archangel.
6. Cardinal Stephen Fumio Hamao, president of the Pontifical Council for Migrants and Travelers: Diaconate of St. John Bosco in Via Tuscolana.
7. Cardinal Attilio Nicora, president of the Administration of the Patrimony of the Holy See: Diaconate of St. Philip Neri in Eurosia.

Pastors of dioceses

8. Cardinal Angelo Scola, patriarch of Venice, Italy: Title of the Seven Most Holy Apostles.
9. Cardinal Anthony Olubunmi Okogie, archbishop of Lagos, Nigeria: Title of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Mt. Carmel of Mostacciano.
10. Cardinal Bernard Panafieu, archbishop of Marseilles, France: St. Gregory Barbarigo alle Tre Fontane.
11. Cardinal Gabriel Zubeir Wako, archbishop of Khartoum, Sudan: Title of St. Anthanasius in Via Tiburtina.
12. Cardinal Carlos Amigo Vallejo, archbishop of Seville, Spain: Title of St. Mary of Monserrat of the Spanish.
13. Cardinal Justin Francis Rigali, archbishop of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: Title of St. Prisca.
14. Cardinal Keith Michael Patrick O’Brien, archbishop of Saint Andrews and Edinburgh, Scotland: Title of Sts. Joachim and Anne at the Tuscolano.
15. Cardinal Eusebio Oscar Scheid, archbishop of Sao Sebastiao do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil: Title of Sts. Boniface and Alexis.
16. Cardinal Ennio Antonelli, archbishop of Florence, Italy: St. Andrew delle Fratte.
17. Cardinal Tarcisio Bertone, archbishop of Genoa, Italy: Title of St. Mary, Helper in Via Tuscolana.
18. Cardinal Peter Kodwo Appiah Turkson, archbishop of Cape Coast, Ghana: Title of St. Liborius.
19. Cardinal Telesphore Placidus Toppo, archbishop of Ranchi, India: Title of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in Agony at Vitinia.
20. Cardinal George Pell, archbishop of Sydney, Australia: Title of St. Mary Dominic Mazzarello.
21. Cardinal Josip Bozanic, archbishop of Zagreb, Croatia: Title of St. Jerome of the Croatians.
22. Cardinal Jean-Baptiste Pham Minh Man, archbishop of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam: Title of St. Justin.
23. Cardinal Rodolfo Quezada Toruño, archbishop of Guatemala City: Title of St. Saturnius.
24. Cardinal Philippe Barbarin, archbishop of Lyon, France: Title of the Most Holy Spirit al Monte Pincio.
25. Cardinal Peter Erdö, archbishop of Esztergom-Budapest, Hungary: Title of St. Balbina.
26. Cardinal Marc Ouellet, archbishop of Quebec: St. Mary in Traspontina.

Theologians older than 80

27. Cardinal Georges Marie Martin Cottier, O.P., theologian of the Pontifical Household, from Switzerland: Diaconate of Sts. Dominic and Sixtus.
28. Cardinal Gustaaf Joos of the Diocese of Ghent, Belgium: Diaconate of St. Peter Damian ai Monti di San Paolo.
29. Cardinal Tomas Spidlik of the Czech Republic: Diaconate of St. Agatha of Goti.
30. Cardinal Stanislas Nagy of the Priests of the Sacred Heart of Jesus (Dehonians), Poland: Diaconate of St. Mary of the Stairs.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation