Vatican Media Screenshot

Pope Francis Names 14 to be Cardinals

Will be Created Cardinals at a Consistory on June 29th

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

Pope Francis on May 20, 2018, announced the names of 14 new Cardinals to be created at a consistory on June 29, 2018.  He made the announcement when speaking to the crowd gathered in St. Peter’s Square for the noonday Regina Coeli.
The Cardinals-to-be hail from around the world including Iraq, Pakistan, Portugal, Peru, Madagascar, Italy, Poland, Mexico, and Japan
The new Cardinals are:
His Beatitude Louis Raphaël I Sako – Chaldean Catholic Patriarch of Babylon
His Excellency Luis Ladaria –Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith
His Excellency Angelo De Donatis – Vicar General of Rome
His Excellency Giovanni Angelo Becciu – Substitute of the Secretary of State and Special Delegate for the Sovereign Military Order of Malta
His Excellency Konrad Krajewski – Almoner of the Office of Papal Charities
His Excellency Joseph Coutts – Archbishop of Karachi
His Excellency António dos Santos Marto – Bishop of Leiria-Fátima
His Excellency Pedro Barreto – Archbishop of Huancayo
His Excellency Desiré Tsarahazana – Archbishop of Toamasina
His Excellency Giuseppe Petrocchi – Archbishop of L’Aquila
His Excellency Thomas Aquinas Manyo – Archbishop of Osaka
His Excellency Sergio Obeso Rivera – Emeritus Archbishop of Xalapa.
His Excellency Toribio Ticona Porco – Emeritus Bishop of Corocoro.
Reverend Father Aquilino Bocos Merino – member of the Claretian order.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

Staff Reporter

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation