Donate now

4 Consultors Appointed to Doctrinal Congregation

VATICAN CITY, APRIL 3, 2003 ( John Paul II has appointed four consultors for the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

The new consultors include Bishop Brian Farrell, secretary of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity; and Father Gianfranco Ghirlanda, dean of the School of Canon Law of the Gregorian University, the Vatican press office said today.

Also appointed are Monsignor Jean Laffitte of the Diocese of Autun, France, professor of moral theology at the John Paul II Pontifical Institute for Studies on Marriage and the Family of Rome, and Spanish Monsignor Carlos José Errázuriz Mackenna, professor of canon law at the University of the Holy Cross in Rome.

The doctrinal congregation aims to promote and safeguard the doctrine of the faith and morals throughout the Catholic world. It is presided over by Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger.

About ZENIT Staff

Share this Entry

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation