5 Named to Pontifical Academy of Sciences

VATICAN CITY, OCT. 30, 2003 (Zenit.org).- John Paul II appointed five new members of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences, including three professors at U.S. universities.

The Vatican press office announced the new members today:

— Antonio Garcia-Bellido, born in 1936 in Madrid, Spain. He is a professor of genetics at the Severo Ochoa Center of Molecular Biology at the Autonomous University of Madrid.

— Fotis Kafatos, born in the Greek island of Crete, is a professor of molecular biology at Harvard University in Massachusetts.

— Tsung-Dao Lee, born in 1926 in Shanghai, China, is a professor of physics at Columbia University in New York.

— Ryoji Noyori, born in 1938 in Kobe, Japan, is a professor of organic chemistry at Nagoya University.

— Kevin Ryan, born in 1932 in Mount Vernon, New York, is a professor and director emeritus of the Center for the Advancement of Ethics and Character at Boston University.

The Pontifical Academy of Sciences is nonsectarian in its choice of members. The work of the academy comprises six major areas: fundamental science; science and technology of global problems; science for the problems of the Third World; scientific policy; bioethics; and epistemology.

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a micro-donation

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a micro-donation

Subscribe to the ZENIT Daily Email Newsletter

Receive the latest news of the Church and the world in your inbox every day. 

Thank you for subscribing! We will confirm your subscription via email. Please check your spam folder if you do not receive it soon.