Members Appointed for Vatican Dicasteries

Share this Entry

VATICAN CITY, JAN. 31, 2011 ( Benedict XVI named four prelates for the Council of Cardinals and Bishops of the Section for Relations with States of the Secretariat of State.

The Vatican announced the appointment Saturday of the four cardinals for this council: Cardinal Péter Erdõ, archbishop of Esztergom-Budapest, Hungary; Cardinal Marc Ouellet, prefect of the Congregation for Bishops; Cardinal Fortunato Baldelli, major penitentiary of the Apostolic Penitentiary; and Cardinal Raymond Burke, prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signature.

Also on Saturday, the Pope named several new members for the Pontifical Council for Migrants and Travelers.

These members include: Cardinal Ennio Antonelli, president of the Pontifical Council for the Family; Archbishop Cyril Vasil’, secretary of the Congregation for Eastern Churches; Chaldean Bishop Antoine Audo of Alep, Syria; Bishop John Wester of Salt Lake City, Utah; Bishop Luigi Negri of San Marino-Montefeltro, Italy; and Auxiliary Bishop Guerino Di Tora of Rome.

The Pontiff appointed five consultors to the same dicastery, including Monsignor Jacques Harel, national consultant for the Apostolate of the Sea in Mauritius; Scalabrinian Father Maurizio Pettena, director of the office for migrants of the Australian Catholic Bishops’ Conference; Paolo Morozzo Della Rocca, professor of jurisprudence at the University of Urbino, Italy; Christopher Hein, director of the Italian Council for Refugees; and Laura Zanfrini, sociology professor at Sacred Heart Catholic University in Milan, Italy.

Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation