New Members Named to Congregation for Divine Worship

Includes Cardinals From Africa and Australia

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

VATICAN CITY, FEB. 2, 2005 ( John Paul II has appointed cardinals and bishops as new members of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Sacraments, the Vatican press office reported.

The new cardinal members of the congregation are:

— Christian Wiyghan Tumi, archbishop of Douala, Cameroon;

— Salvatore De Giorgi, archbishop of Palermo, Italy;

— Angelo Scola, patriarch of Venice, Italy;

— Tarcisio Bertone, archbishop of Genoa, Italy;

— Peter Kodwo Appiah Turkson, archbishop of Cape Coast, Ghana;

— George Pell, archbishop of Sydney, Australia;

— Péter Erdõ, archbishop of Esztergom-Budapest, Hungary;

— Zenon Grocholewski, prefect of the Congregation for Catholic Education;

— Julián Herranz, president of the Pontifical Council for the Interpretation of Legislative Texts;

The new archbishop members of the congregation are:

— Michel Marie Calvet, of Noumea, New Caledonia;

— Paulino Lukudu Loro, of Juba, Sudan;

— Jean Marie Untaani Compaoré, of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso;

— Thomas Menamparampil, of Guwahati, India;

— Buti Joseph Tlhagale, of Johannesburg, South Africa;

The new bishop members of the congregation are:

— Tarcisius Ngalalekumtwa, of Iringa, Tanzania;

— Joseph Zen Ze-kiun, of Hong Kong;

— Antoni Dziemianko, auxiliary of Minsk Mohilev, Belarus;

— Robert Le Gall, of Mende, France.

According to the 1988 apostolic constitution «Pastor Bonus,» the congregation «does whatever pertains to the Apostolic See concerning the regulation and promotion of the sacred liturgy, primarily of the sacraments, without prejudice to the competence of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.»

Cardinal Francis Arinze is the current prefect of the congregation.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation