Offices of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops on Fourth Street NE in Washington


Houston, LA Prelates Elected to Lead US Bishops' Conference

Cardinal DiNardo was serving as vice president, now will give 3 years as president

Share this Entry

Cardinal Daniel DiNardo, archbishop of Galveston-Houston, Texas, and Archbishop José Gomez of Los Angeles were elected president and vice president, respectively, of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops at their annual meeting this morning in Baltimore.
The president and vice president are elected to three-year terms, which begin at the conclusion of the meeting.
At that time, Archbishop Joseph E. Kurtz of Louisville, Kentucky, and Cardinal DiNardo will complete their terms as president and vice president, respectively.
The bishops are also voting on new chairmen of the following five USCCB committees:

  1. Committee on Canonical Affairs and Church Governance,
  2. Committee on Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs,
  3. Committee on Evangelization and Catechesis,
  4. Committee on International Justice and Peace, and the
  5. Committee on the Protection of Children and Young People.
Share this Entry

Staff Reporter

Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation