Ecuador © Vatican Media

Bishops of Amazonian Countries Express Their Support to Ecuador

Letter to President of Ecuadorian Episcopate

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry

The Bishops of the Amazonian countries expressed their backing to Monsignor Eugenio Arellano Fernandez, President of the Ecuadorian Episcopal Conference (EEC), of his Episcopate’s commitment to peace and his appeal for dialogue to the Government and to the different political and social forces, “given the grave situation that is affecting the Ecuadorian people and that is taking human lives and <causing> many wounded in the protests.”

The message was transmitted in a letter dated last Saturday, October 12, 2019, in the Vatican, where the Synod on the Amazon is underway.

The Prelates congratulated the Ecuadorian Episcopate for the press release sent last October 9, in which the “Executive Council of the EEC expresses its concern, reflection, and proposals,” stated the missive.

Moreover, the Bishops say they agree with the idea that “the dialogue process should include the management of a mediation and a thematic agenda of common agreement between the parties,” and they consider it “very positive  that the United Nations and the Academy system have expressed their interest in facilitating the mediation process.”

They also identify themselves fully with the appeal of the Ecuadorian Bishops “to continue working towards a final agreement, which makes viable a return to calm and the necessary strengthening of democracy.”

Finally, they unite themselves to all in prayer “so that common points are concretized in Ecuador, which return peace to your nation and advance is made in finding sustainable justice for life and human dignity, especially of the most vulnerable people.”

The letter was signed by: Monsignor Miguel Cabrejos Vidarte, President of the Latin American Episcopal Conference (CELAM) and President of the Peruvian Episcopal Conference; Monsignor Jose Luis Azuaje, President of the Episcopal Conference of Venezuela; Monsignor Oscar Urbina, President of the Episcopal Conference of Colombia; Monsignor Ricardo Centellas, President of the Bolivian Episcopal Conference; and Monsignor Walmor Oliveira de Azevedo, President of the National Conference of Bishops of Brazil.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this Entry


Support ZENIT

If you liked this article, support ZENIT now with a donation